“Do Not Mistake Me For a Star…”: Watain Signs with Century Media

I was kind of at a loss as to what to write about this weekend (because I did promise a post by the end of the week), however, Watain has saved me the trouble. The Swedish occultists have signed on with Century Media, and their fans have been largely tetchy about it.

First of all, I would like to clarify something. Getting signed to Century Media is not like signing with Epic Records or anything. I mean, it’s a bigger company than Noevdia or Season of Mist (which Watain have used in the past), but it’s not like they are some super corporation. Napalm Death is on Century Media. Marduk is as well. I have heard that sometimes their distro is not so quick at getting online orders shipped (although I myself have never had a problem with them), but they seem to be a pretty good label from what I have seen and heard. Therefore, no, I do not think that Watain is “selling out.”

In fact, I think the move to a bigger label is a wise choice. Watain needs a bigger label. They have thrived and done well on smaller ones in the past, but their supporting Behemoth on the Decibel Tour earlier this spring gained them a veritable shit-ton of new fans, and they are getting, to put it colloquially, too big for their britches. Guys, Wolf Wear shut down because they couldn’t handle all the orders Watain was getting (or at least that was my understanding of the situation). Seriously. I myself was privy to the craziness because I put in my order for my totally awesome Watain hoodie (that gets me compliments from random people all the time) right about the same time that Opus Diaboli came out this summer. You know, the DVD that they pretty much sold out of before it was released? Wolf Wear was backed up for ages. I’m lucky I got my hoodie, and I feel sorry for the hell that a lot of the fans put them through when they did not have the capabilities to handle that many orders (or at least I am inclined to believe). They pulled their Facebook page, which was practically dripping with venom from hacked off fans.

And the DVD? Well, my friend Jamie and I looked everywhere for it right after it came out, and despite the fact that all the usual suspects (FYE, Barnes and Noble, etc.) showed that it had been released and was being delivered, no one *actually* had a copy of it. The demand was too high. I had to order our copies online, and I didn’t see it on the shelf anywhere until a couple of weeks after the release date.

Watain is still somewhat underground, but guys, I hate to break it to you, they won’t be for long. If my predictions prove true, their next album will skyrocket them out of it. The band has been sitting pretty at the top of the underground metal scene for a while, but they are probably the biggest third wave band after Dark Funeral, and the press they have gotten from the Decibel Tour has gained them so much overwhelming support that the underground is no longer going to be able to support them. I know we all like to think it can, but I think there comes a certain point in terms of supply/demand when the self-sustenance of the underground scene can no longer really maintain a band. It happened to Napalm Death a long time ago, and having just seen them the other day, I can testify that they are as true to their art as they ever were. I honestly believe that Watain will do the same; they are not in this gig for the money.

Don’t think of it as Watain getting on a big label so they can make more money, think of it as Watain needing a bigger label so that they can distribute to and provide the services demanded to the literally thousands of fans that they have gained in recent years. The Wolf Wear debacle this past summer made it clear that the band needs the help of a distributor the size of Century Media. The label is going to make it easier for you to get Watain merch. They are going to support the band, not the other way around.

That being said, my only concern is that Watain is well-treated by Century Media. The label seems really excited to have them, and I hope that they are good to them and support them in the way that they should.

For their sakes. Because Watain seem perfectly capable of taking care of themselves, and I’d hate to be on the wrong side of Erik Danielsson.

Image

Don’t worry, kids. These guys aren’t going to appear on lunch boxes any time soon. (from rockenweb)

[Also, no one has said the world “kvlt” and meant it seriously since 1994. So quit doing it in reference to this Watain thing. It makes you sound like an idiot.]

***

[You can go here to read the story at The Gauntlet, and if you want to witness the internet’s hissy fit, you can do so in the comments over at MetalSucks.

-Hagalaz

2 Responses to ““Do Not Mistake Me For a Star…”: Watain Signs with Century Media”

  1. […] that perhaps it might arise from professional difficulties- SL tours with Watain sometimes, and we recently watched the blood-smeared Swedes sign with a bigger label. That doesn’t strike either of us as the sort of thing that either SL or his buddies in Watain […]

  2. […] the haters that Watain aren’t selling out just because they signed with a bigger label. Because I wrote a post defending you guys, Watain, so don’t mess this […]

Leave a Reply

